Bailey’s Dairy Treat in Nedrow

When I was a kid, my parents would periodically take us to Bailey’s Dairy Treat in Nedrow. If I remember correctly, the ice cream was good! We went to Nedrow because at that time there wasn’t an ice cream stand in LaFayette.

I took a couple of photos of the place last year. This is a photo of the sign:
2012-08-17 005

And a photo of the stand itself:
2012-08-17 004

As I drive by it, I’ve been noticing it has been improving over the years, so I stopped in a couple of weeks ago to talk to the owner. He has owned the place for six years. It has been open for 54 years (so it opened in 1958), and he has some old photos he will be sharing soon. I stopped in last night, and he wasn’t there, but I took some photos, because he has a new sign:

2013-07-20 Nedrow 002

And the ice cream cone that blew down some time in 2012 (I think) on the stand is back up:
2013-07-20 Nedrow 003

Once I see the old photos, I’ll post them here. If I remember correctly, the stand was white when I was a kid, but it’s been a while, so I could be wrong!

One Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Meg
    Jul 22, 2013 @ 07:37:41

    I know this place! I will have to check it out, I drive by on the way to a friends house, now I will have to check it out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

