Coming Into Full Bloom: Weigela

Weigela is coming into bloom now. It is right outside Mom’s front porch, and where I sit to eat on the porch, I can see it. Two days ago we were eating lunch and I saw a hummingbird flit over to it and quickly leave.

Weigela

This morning on my way to the store I saw three geese and eight goslings – how cute they were!! Sorry no photo – I know the camera needs to hang around my neck all of the time!

I went outside at 7:00 AM to plant my garden – it was already 80 degrees F out according to my thermometer. Three hours later, I have a garden! I had to cover the tomato plants – believe it or not hungry deer have eaten my tomatoes down in years past. It is very frustrating to say the least! Which reminds me, I have to place an order with Lee Valley for floating row cover so I can cover the rest of my garden when it sprouts to protect it from whoever finds my garden more delictable than the plants in the woods behind my yard.

I accidentally destroyed another spider’s web today. I feel bad – the spiders work so hard – but the web was hanging from my Rose-of-Sharon to my clothes line (the kind that turns). I hung my quilt on the line, and when I got home the clothes line had turned so I’m sure the spider web was destroyed. I don’t mean to do it.

Now it’s 1:30 PM and my thermometer is reading 95 degrees F. Amazing! This is breaking records!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jim
    Jun 09, 2006 @ 15:01:33

    I want to see the geese and eight goslings …

    Reply

  2. p
    Jun 09, 2006 @ 15:04:49

    They were so cute and fuzzy and had to walk fast to try to keep up with the three adults!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

