Robins, Dragonfly, Monarch Butterfly

I was able to sit on my deck for a few minutes, and the first thing I saw was this American Robin (Turdus migratorius) sunning itself:

Robin Sunning Itself

Sorry this photo isn’t clear. Some of the others here aren’t clear either as I was taking these quickly and from far away so I wouldn’t disturb their activity. Here’s a Robin listening for food:

Robin Listening

And another Robin:

Young Robin

I looked up just in time to see this Robin flip its wings out on the lawn to seriously sun itself:

Robin Sunning Itself

All of this Robin activity encouraged me to get my bird baths out and filled for them. I love to watch birds take baths. A Cardinal kept flying through the yard, but I couldn’t get a photo.

Here’s a Monarch Butterfly (Danaus plexippus) on my Comfrey (Symphytum officinale):

Monarch Butterfly

I also saw a Yellow Swallowtail fly through the yard a few times, but it didn’t land anywhere so I couldn’t capture a quick photo.

This Dragonfly was flying around my garden:

Dragonfly

Lots of activity for just a few minutes outside! I can just imagine what I miss when I’m not there!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jim
    Jun 06, 2006 @ 15:15:38

    Nice pictures of animals, you take great photos.

    Reply

  2. p
    Jun 09, 2006 @ 15:10:22

    Thank you! I try!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

