A Different Type of Highway

There’s the superhighway, the information highway, and here’s the wire highway – the one that squirrels tightrope on to get around from tree to tree. I only see Grey Squirrels (Sciurus carolinensis) on the ground around here when they’re chasing each other, eating the seeds from my Silver Maple (Acer saccharinum), or when they’re burying nuts, otherwise, they use the wire highway:

Squirrel
The following photo shows one of the reasons why I have to keep my vegetable garden covered with floating row covers:

Rabbit

This rabbit is so cute, as long as it isn’t eating *my* food!

Sorry the photo of this Northern Cardinal (Cardinalis cardinalis – yup, I’m getting that this is a cardinal from that Latin name) is blurry, but I thought this was a good pose:

Cardinal

And the purple Norway Spruce cones keep growing downwards (I love the blue sky today):

Spruce Cones

Leave a Reply

