Ostriches

Ostriches (Struthio camelus) are so interesting! They are fast-running, non-flying and the largest living bird. Mom and I visited the Rooster Cogburn Ostrich Ranch in Picacho, AZ on March 24, 2006. We fed them:

Ostrich

I love their long eyelashes and even their “bad” hairdos:

Ostrich

Their feet are so interesting with two toes on each foot!

Ostrich

And they live in a beautiful location on this ranch, with the Picacho Peaks in the background:

Ostrich

I didn’t capture a photo of the rear ends of those Ostriches that had just had their feathers plucked for Ostrich dusters. I felt bad that they had partially “bare” rear ends! Every time I dust with my Ostrich duster I think of our Arizona trip!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Nature Woman » Blog Archive » Ostriches! And Other Baby Animals!
  2. Trackback: Nature Woman » Ostrich Sighting, Snap Preview Anywhere TM Plugin

Leave a Reply

