Bees, Poison Ivy

I like seeing Bees hanging out on plants when it is just a little bit cool. Yesterday as I closed the front window I saw a bee hanging out on an Echinacea flower petal. Which reminded me of the trip to Cornell Plantations with my Mom last August, and the bees hanging out on a sunflower head there:

19Aug2005 042cOn Monday I busily eradicated some saplings and a couple of bigger trees between my garage and the neighbor’s fence. In this area I noticed I was rubbing up against plants with “leaves of three” as in “leaves of three, let it be.” Too late, I was already in it, and now I have a painful case of poison ivy, especially on one leg, and it’s spreading to my other leg and arms and chest. I went out to the garden to pick my evening salad, and the plants / weeds made the poison ivy hurt really bad just by lightly touching my legs. Needless to say, I’ve had to ban outdoor activities, and the weeds in the garden are taking full advantage of the situation. Oh well. Two weeks can’t go by fast enough for me. I know that herbs don’t help it go away, but I alternate between Dr. Christopher’s Plantain Ointment and Burt’s Bees Almond Milk Beeswax Hand Creme. Both of these take the pain away. Okay, I’ll stop complaining now, since I was the dumb one working in an area with “leaves of three.”

Leave a Reply

