Momma and Baby

I looked out the bathroom window again last night (as I do every time I go in there, even in the winter – it’s frosted glass so I open it wide so I can see what’s going on), and I saw a doe eating my Comfrey (that’s okay, it grows very fast) and a fawn eating weeds. As soon as I opened the sliding glass door curtain to take photos, Momma knew something was wrong (I did it real slow and noiseless, too):

23July2006a 001c

Here’s a close up of the fawn (I couldn’t get a close up of the doe):

23July2006a 002c

Momma must have made a sound because right after I snapped this photo the fawn ran towards her and ran right over the top of her. Then they both took off.

I saw a bee sleeping on an Echinacea flower petal again, I tried taking a photo through the window screen, but it came out really fuzzy. So I’ll try again tonight when I go outside.

I’m doing an experiment on a small patch of poison ivy on my skin. I’m using something called No. 3 Full Strength Salamanca Herb Salve, manufactured by H. F. Freeman in Salamanca, NY. The patch is looking better than the other patches, so I may try some more little patches. Unfortunately the company went out of business years ago.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. S. Kerr
    Nov 28, 2006 @ 20:57:09

    How were you able to procure the Salamanca Herb Salve? I grew up in the 60s and 70s using it, and would LOVE to find some again. Please respond with any info…

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Nov 29, 2006 @ 21:00:03

    Hi S. – can you believe it is an old jar from the 60s – and it still works great! Supposedly some of the stores around the Salamanca area carry the salve – I haven’t checked it out myself. If all else fails, when I run out I’ll attempt to make my own, if I can obtain the ingredients.

    Reply

  3. Susan Armstrong
    Jan 07, 2007 @ 20:23:07

    Hi Pam —

    My family also liked and used the Salamanca Herb Salve & have not been able to locate it for years. I’m afraid we used up our last dabs of the stuff years ago.

    Would you please forward the list of ingredients from the label in the same order listed. I imagine that you already know that ingredients are listed on labels in order of the amount contained in the product. The first ingredient is present in the largest quantity. I’d like to find a similar product or perhaps try making my own.

    Thanks so much for your help!

    Susan

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Jan 08, 2007 @ 07:55:39

    Hi Susan,
    I’ve made a separate post with the ingredients for you. Please let me know if you do end up making it – what proportions you end up using, and how you make it.
    Thanks!
    Pam

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Nature Woman » No. 3 Full Strength Salamanca Herb Salve
  6. Marlene Sparrow
    Feb 02, 2007 @ 12:20:51

    Re: the note from Pam to Susan, providing the ingredients… I also grew up w/Salamanca Herb Salve. There’s still a little jar in my dad’s linen closet. Will you please send me the list of ingredients? Thank you, Marlene

    Reply

  7. Trisha
    Feb 05, 2007 @ 10:59:43

    I found salamanca salve at a compounding pharmacy in erie pa, they make it, they are called pharmacy innovations and their phone number is 814-838-2102. I hope this was ok to post, just thought i would help.

    Hugs,
    Trisha

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Feb 05, 2007 @ 11:36:20

    Trisha – Thanks for the information! Have you tried it yet? If so, do you like it as well as the old formula?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

