Thank you Susan Gets Native!

Susan from Susan Gets Native has a blog entry about my poison ivy, and a photo of possible a poison ivy plant in her yard. I think it is poison ivy, based on my “Leaves of Three, Let It Be” rule and from looking at photos in books and the internet. Thank you Susan, for reading, and for blogging about me! It’s nice to know there are nice people like you who care!

When I went to get my mail from today and Saturday it hurt my poison ivy rashes/blisters very bad to be outside. If someone could explain that, I would really appreciate it. It’s like the air outside has spikes that stick right into my skin. This having to be stuck inside on these gorgeous days is really getting to me. I’ve taken to watching TV (boring, snore), reading through a stack of magazines, blogging too much here and elsewhere, all while tending to my leaky, itchy, painful skin. So while I’m reading through a magazine I overhear a stupid commercial on TV for Diet Cranberry Juice. Two guys are standing in a cranberry bog, and at the end they refer to Wheatgrass as if it is the type of grass growing in the lawn (something like “it’s way better tasting than your lawn, which you wouldn’t want to eat anyway”) How ignorant is that? Wheatgrass is excellent for humans to juice and drink (starting in a very small quantity at first because it is *very* powerful stuff). I drink wheatgrass every day. It is an acquired taste, but it tastes so good once you get used to it. There’s lots of information about Wheatgrass out there – my favorite is Ann Wigmore’s The Wheatgrass Book. And no, wheatgrass is not on the list of turf grass. Okay, I know I need to get a life, I’m trying to get better, and then my blog will return to some semblance of normalcy, maybe.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Jul 24, 2006 @ 20:23:59

    You’re welcome!
    As to the pain when going into the sun: Blisters do not have any pigment protection against the sun (the pigment layer is under the skin that bubbles up), so the sun heats up the tissues fast. The skin is also already erythemic from the rash and/or scratching and the ultraviolet rays cause a reaction in the skin. Please be careful in the sun, girl! You sure don’t want a 1st degree burn on top of a poison ivy rash!
    Cheers, and sending you cooling, hydrocortisone thoughts!

    Reply

  2. p
    Jul 24, 2006 @ 20:31:09

    Thank you for your help Susan! I will *try* to keep out of the sunshine – it sure is difficult with the beautiful weather we’re having these days to be stuck inside.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

