My Favorite Breakfast Cereal

Alright, I know this is a nature blog, but as I’m sitting here writing I’m eating my most yummiest, favorite breakfast cereal. I’ve made this recipe for my friends, and it is now their favorite breakfast cereal. They actually eat it at any time of day. And so do I! In fact, I had it for a snack last night. So I thought I’d share it here:

Easy Breakfast

From Light and Natural Cookbook

Ingredients:

  • 1 large unpeeled apple – diced
  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (I use pecans)
  • 1 cup soy yogurt (I use Silk Vanilla Soy Yogurt)
  • 2 Tbsp. wheat germ
  • Ground cinnamon (optional – but I use this generously)
  • Ground nutmeg (optional – I’ve never tried this)

Directions:

Stir the apples, oats, maple syrup and nuts into the yogurt. Sprinkle with wheat germ. Top with cinnamon and nutmeg if desired. Garnish with fresh fruit.

Serves 2.

I hope you try this and enjoy it!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Jul 26, 2006 @ 21:31:46

    Oh my goodness…that sounds delicious! I’m going to the grocery tomorrow, and I will be getting all the ingredients for this!

    Reply

  2. p
    Jul 26, 2006 @ 21:58:25

    Ohhh, it is! I have it almost every day – it is an energizer and sticks with me while I’m working. And kids like it, too! I hope you enjoy it.

    Reply

  3. james
    Aug 02, 2006 @ 10:22:29

    yep, i eat this too, but i put dates and raisens in it.mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Aug 02, 2006 @ 10:28:39

    MMMMMM, dates sounds good. Skip the raisins (you know how I feel about raisins – they taste nasty and they feel yucky in my mouth).
    I’ve been having mine topped with peaches this week. So yummy!!

    Reply

  5. james
    Aug 03, 2006 @ 19:02:26

    raisins are good for you, thats the key ingrediants .try the yellow ones. they are not as mushy.

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Aug 03, 2006 @ 19:51:20

    Hmmm, well, golden raisins are somewhat better. I liked them in the cookies you made for me with the yummy orange frosting. But I try not to eat them if I can help it. Now dates, they would taste good in the cereal!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

