Interesting Insect – and the Winner is. . . Western Conifer Seed Bug

This interesting bug greeted me as I came home from running errands today:

28July2006a 001c

I don’t know whether he’s a good bug or a bad bug, I’ll have to get my insect id books out. It’s looking like this insect may be a Bee Assassin Bug (Apiomerus spp.). So to me it is a bad guy since it kills Honey Bees. If anyone can confirm this, I would appreciate it!

I wrote to the Entomology Professor at school and he identified this leaf footed bug, Order Hemiptera as: Western Conifer Seed Bug (Leptoglossus occidentalis). Thanks Rob!

As I opened the front window I saw this next bug (it looks like some kind of fly) sleeping on the Echinacea:

28July2006a 003c

It wasn’t too bad at all going out today since it was sprinkling. I put on my workout pants (since they’re soft) and everything worked out fine. Yay! I can go outside again. But I still will be careful of the sun because there are still some blisters, and lots of skin healing to go.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Jul 28, 2006 @ 23:50:11

    That’s a stink bug…don’t know the species. They are for the most part plant eaters, not a major problem. But they smell awful when you smush them.

    Reply

  2. p
    Jul 29, 2006 @ 07:50:59

    Thanks Susan! I’ll see if I can id the species.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Nature Woman » Blog Archive » I LOVE Fossils!
  4. Gary Timothy
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 10:33:51

    My National Audubon Society field guide says that this is indeed a bee assassin. I have found other web sources that agree with this. However, I found one of these just yesterday on a pine tree branch, which is in keeping with the seed bug hypothesis.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

