Scarlet Tanager, Hairy Woodpeckers, American Goldfinch

I sat outside for a while tonight until the bugs started getting to me (they seem to bite when I’m taking a photo). The birds are around but they’re relatively quiet. I was excited when I saw this Scarlet Tanager (Piranga olivacea) – sorry about the fuzzy photo:

28July2006b 018c

These woodpeckers are Hairy Woodpeckers (Picoides villosus). Thanks Susan! Sorry again about the fuzzy photos:

28July2006b 035c

.

28July2006b 047c

.

28July2006b 045c

Here’s a female American Goldfinch (Carduelis tristis) in the Rose of Sharon:

28July2006b 022c

.

28July2006b 023c

The rabbit is getting bigger:

28July2006b 024c

I enjoyed watching a bee collecting pollen from the petunia flowers:

28July2006b 004c

The bee backing himself out of the petunia:

28July2006b 006c

The male and female Northern Cardinal flew through the yard tonight. I captured the male Northern Cardinal:

28July2006b 001c

It was really good to be outside again to watch nature, except for the biting bugs.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Jul 28, 2006 @ 23:51:21

    Arrggh! You have tanagers!
    Even though they are around, I have yet to see one in person.

    Reply

  2. p
    Jul 29, 2006 @ 07:49:09

    I was so excited about actually seeing a scarlet tanager – I don’t think I’ve ever seen one before! He didn’t stay for very long – I only got two photos, the other one was fuzzier than this one.
    Do you know what the Woodpecker is?

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Jul 29, 2006 @ 22:53:15

    Pam: I would have to say Hairy Woodpeckers. Downy’s look very similar and are more common, but as far as I can gauge from these lovely photos ๐Ÿ™‚ they are Hairy’s. Good catch!

    Reply

  4. p
    Jul 30, 2006 @ 08:56:34

    Hairy Woodpeckers! Thank you so much for your help Susan!

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Jul 30, 2006 @ 21:12:28

    Hope you didn’t take offense at my ribbing you about the fuzzy pictures…I have absolutely NO room to talk.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  6. p
    Jul 30, 2006 @ 21:23:44

    OMG no Susan! I really appreciate all of the help you give me identifying birds and bugs and everything! I know I stink at the photos – I wish I knew how to put the camera on a tripod and at the same time follow these birds around the yard and at the same time get clear photos. I can picture myself picking up the tripod every other second and scaring all of the birds away.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

