Birds, Tomatoes

As you know, yesterday was inhumanely *hot* and *humid*. So I ran my errands early in the morning and figured I’d have *nothing* to blog about since I planned on staying inside with my books. Wrong! In the grocery store parking lot I found a feather. Given that I live very close to one of the Great Lakes, I figure it might be a Herring Gull (Larus argentatus) feather, but I don’t know:

01August2006 001c

I love feathers! I’ll bring this to my Mom’s house to add to our feather collection. She has them all laid out around her porch.

As I opened the sliding glass door to the deck last night to check on the outdoor temperature, I saw a Great Blue Heron (Ardea herodias) lazily flying over. No photos though, sorry.

Around 7:30 PM I was able to sit outside for a while, it was still 90 degrees F, but it was in the shade and there was a breeze. I saw many different birds eating Rose of Sharon seeds, and drinking water from the bird baths next to the Rose of Sharon. Here’s a Black-Capped Chickadee:
01August2006 012c

And a female Goldfinch:

01August2006 019c

And a Tufted Titmouse:

01August2006 028c

There were lots of other birds around but I wasn’t quick enough with the camera.

And the best part of the day – I have my first tomatoes! A couple of the skins were split because of all of the rain we’ve had. Here you see them:

01August2006 031c

And now you don’t!

01August2006 032c

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!! They were yummy! Still nice and warm from the hot sun!

P.S. It was so humid today that when I went outside from the store, my glasses fogged up. I have *never* had that happen.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Aug 02, 2006 @ 22:33:30

    I might just have to plant some Rose of Sharon, looking at the birds enjoy the seed pods. I have never seen so many people around here with Rose of Sharon. It’s such an eye-catcher, I have almost driven off the road looking at it.
    Those tomatoes were scrumptious, I bet. Perfect.

    Reply

  2. Lynne
    Aug 03, 2006 @ 09:36:43

    Those tomatoes are/were beautiful! I picked my first three yesterday too. Here’s how I like them:

    alternate tomato slices with thin slices of fresh mozarella cheese(barely overlapping), sprinkle with oregano,and splashes of balsamic vinegar YUMMM!!!

    How do you like garden tomatoes?

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Aug 03, 2006 @ 15:57:20

    Hi Lynne, Congratulations on your tomatoes! I love this time of year when we can pick goodies from the garden. MMMMM, your recipe sounds fantastic! I’ll try it if I can get the tomatoes into the kitchen. I love eating tomatoes like I eat an apple!

    Hi Susan, I didn’t realize until this year that the birds are so into the Rose of Sharon seeds! I’m thinking of planting another one.
    Oh yeah, the tomatoes are excellent! I can’t wait for more to ripen.

    Reply

  4. Laura
    Aug 05, 2006 @ 11:36:53

    I came by to see your *weird* list and the tomatoes caught my eye!

    Do they really split like that because of too much water? Duh – always thought it was too little water!

    I love mine with fresh mozarella and basil, too. My favorite way is eating them right out in the garden – grpae tomatoes are perfect for this – nothing like a tomatoe warmed by the sun – yum!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Aug 06, 2006 @ 08:33:13

    Hi Laura,
    I had to look up the tomato splitting thing, and it said splitting is caused by water stress – alternating wet and dry conditions can cause splitting. So you’re right! Thanks for prompting me to look it up!
    I plant a basil patch next to the tomato patch – I love basil and tomatoes, too! I just noticed a couple more tomatoes ready to be picked today – hmmm, I think I see a tomato, basil, artichoke and mayonnaise sandwich for lunch. Yum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

