For Susan Gets Native

I’m totally exhausted having worked really hard for the past two days, but after reading Susan Gets Native’s blog, I had to post these babies for her. They were in the lawn again around 8:00 AM yesterday morning (Tuesday) – they’re just waiting to be shipped to your back yard Susan!

08August2006 001c

The one on the right:

08August2006 007c

The one on the left:

08August2006 004c

They woke up and started eating when I started the blender:

08August2006 011c

And here’s a swallowtail for you that I photographed last Saturday:

05August2006 017c

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Aug 09, 2006 @ 22:13:10

    Thanks! Very sweet.
    My backyard is paradise for deer…but we haven’t seen any for a year or so. Unfortunately, we live on the edge of a subdivision, and the deer have to cross a road to get to our yard. (We found one that had been hit by a car right outside our fence…sad)
    The photos made my day!

    Reply

  2. Laura
    Aug 09, 2006 @ 22:28:07

    They’re very pretty!

    Reply

  3. Lynne
    Aug 10, 2006 @ 09:20:32

    Do they actually curl up and sleep on your lawn? I thought they would want to sleep hidden away in the brush. What an amazing thing to see!! Thanks for sharing- it’s like fairy babies in your own yard!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Aug 10, 2006 @ 19:27:57

    Hi Susan, I’m glad the photos made your day! Sorry to hear about the deer that was hit.

    Hi Laura – I love their little spots and the way they sleep!

    Hi Lynne – Fairy Babies – that’s nice! Yes, they sleep towards the back of the lawn towards the woods. It’s nice and quiet back there – my neighbors are very quiet for the most part. I’m surprised every time I see them out there. I was really surprised when I saw the big Mom laying out there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

