Hummingbirds, Turfgrass, Cat, Rat

For the past couple of days I’ve seen hummingbirds hanging around the Rose of Sharon – taking nourishment from the flowers – they wiz around so fast I can’t even think of getting the camera ready to catch them.

The guy kitty-corner to me watered his lawn yesterday. Okay, with *all* of the rain we’ve had in the last month, there is NO need to water ANYTHING. Except he cuts his grass down to within an 1″ of it’s life – twice a week – which means the roots are about 1″ long – so there’s no chance for it. It just makes me sad that people waste water like that. Not that I live in a water crisis area, but still, it is a waste. I’m sure my lawn drives the poor man crazy. It is mowed once every two weeks (it doesn’t really grow that much this time of year) and when it is mowed it is mowed to 3″ so it stays nice and green, even when we’re in the middle of a drought. That would drive people crazy who need the perfectly manucured lawn, but not me.

It bugs me that the neighbors’ cats like to hang out in my back yard, but today I came home just in time to see one of the cats walk away with a big grey something in its mouth – too big to be a mouse, and I could only see it’s big fat grey backside, so I’m clueless. This is one day I’m happy I have cats for free in my yard. Just as long as it stays away from my toads, snakes and other garden necessities.

I’m really surprised at the great weather we’ve been having here – nice and cool, no humidity, and nights great for sleeping. This is not how I remember August, but I’m not complaining! Now if I could capture a photo of the full moon right now, that would be so great! I can’t see it anywhere from my home given the trees.

And because I don’t like photoless blog entries, here’s a photo I took at Cornell Plantations a year ago:
19Aug2005 011

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Aug 11, 2006 @ 22:33:32

    People don’t know enough about plants (or their own lawn) to understand that grass is a cool season plant – it’s suppossed to go dormant during the heat of summer! Unless of course you over fertilize and water constantly. Foolishness – what a waste of perfectly good earth (don’t tell my DH I said that – you know men and their lawns!)

    Good way to get rid of stray cats in the garden is to throw a spare shoe at them – works for me!

    Pretty thistle pic!

    Reply

  2. Susan Gets Native
    Aug 11, 2006 @ 22:38:16

    1. We are having nice weather too. It rained today, but I am not about to complain.
    2. People who waste water, time and money on their stupid grass makes me crazy! I recommended a book to anyone when they ask why I got into this “native” thing: Suburban Safari by Hannah Holmes. People just don’t THINK when they saturate their lawns with fertilizers (washes into streams and ponds and causes algae blooms which can kill fish), pesticides (what will the birds eat if there aren’t any bugs?), plant invasive plants (purple loosetrife, to name one), and pour MORE greenhouse gases into the air when they mow twice a week!
    **sorry for the rant. You can tell, I’m sure, that I feel strongly about this!**
    3. I have a plan to start catching the cats that run free in our neighborhood and attaching little notes to their collars for their owners to read. Maybe some statistics of how many songbirds get killed by domestic cats.
    4. Love the bumblebee pic!

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Aug 13, 2006 @ 08:42:58

    I’m glad it’s not just me that gets really irritated over the whole lawn thing – and cats roaming about like they own the joint. Thanks for the tips on getting rid of the cats, and thanks for the book title Susan.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

