A Honkin’ Huge Slug

In my continued attempt to have a flood resistant basement, I replaced the present downspout extensions with 5′ extensions. In doing this I had to remove a short extension that had this skirt like thing it sat on. When I lifted the skirt like thing, there was a HONKIN’ HUGE slug underneath – I have NEVER seen a slug this huge! G-g-g-g-g-gross! Okay, now that I have that out, I did read something at one time about how interesting slugs are (I can’t remember who wrote about slugs, hmmm, I’ll have to think about it). Anyway, I had to go to the internet to even seen how these things are classified, and they are of the kingdom Animalia and are gastropod molluscs. So there we go, an animal, albiet a slimy, mucusy, funky looking animal. Here it is, in all its glory, moving on to a new area, leaving in its wake a white mucus trail. All I can say is it’s a good thing I didn’t touch it – argh!
13August2006 Slug 001c

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Aug 13, 2006 @ 16:29:39

    Bleech- If I had discovered that thing, I would have run away screaming like a girl.

    Did you measure it?

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Aug 13, 2006 @ 16:36:16

    Tell me about it!! I felt like screaming like a girl. I went out to measure it, but now it’s all curled up. It was about 4″ when I took the photo, from its tentacles to its slimy tail. Maybe I’ll go out and poke it with a stick to see if it will uncurl its squishy self.

    Reply

  3. Lynne
    Aug 15, 2006 @ 06:38:17

    FOUR INCHES??!!??!!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Aug 15, 2006 @ 17:57:54

    Yup, that’s why I was so grossed out. I’ve never seen a slug that huge – ewwww!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

