Taughannock Falls State Park, Trumansburg, NY

Yesterday Mom and I went to Ithaca, and on our way back, we stopped at the overlook at Taughannock Falls State Park in Trumansburg, NY. I have never seen this falls before – where the heck have I been – it is amazing!! Photos don’t do it justice, but I’ll add them here anyway. And, it was the wrong time of day to take photos. I love the Finger Lakes region of New York State, actually, I love all of New York state (notice I said state, NOT city), there’s so many amazing natural things to find here. I can just imagine what this falls looks like in the spring. Right now the water is low:

12August2006 Taughannock Falls 007c

Here’s a closer look at the top of the falls:

12August2006 Taughannock Falls 005c

And a closer look at the bottom of the falls:

12August2006 Taughannock Falls 011c

The height of this falls is 215 feet. This is the tallest free-falling waterfall in the northeastern U.S. Taughannock means “in the trees’ in the Algonquin language. It may have been the name of an Indian warrior who staged a raid on the Cayuga people in the Colonial period. Here’s a photo I took of the information board showing the falls during flooding:

12August2006 Taughannock Falls 014c
Quite some difference between this photo and what I saw yesterday, huh? Frost and floods have shaped the walls of this canyon for at least 12,000 years. This is so awesome, now I want to hike there. So much to do, so little time!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Aug 13, 2006 @ 11:42:09

    Isn’t it amazing that left to its own devices, water can carve a gorge in solid rock? Think about how many people it would take to make a hole that big!
    We have some falls nearby in Indiana, but they are nothing compared to those!
    I have been to the Finger Lakes region (for Woodstock ’99) and it was so beautiful, I didn’t want to come home.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Aug 13, 2006 @ 14:55:13

    Oh yeah, the power of water never ceases to amaze me!! Especially when I see something amazing like this. . . or the Grand Canyon.
    I could very easily move to the Finger Lakes region – maybe some day. That’s where I end up hiking the most.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

