Using My Brain

I’m sitting here online helping someone at OHA, waiting to see if he has more questions, and I turned on The View. Okay, I must be PMS’ing, because I am raggin’ today. Today The View has someone on the panel (don’t know her name) who is a soap star. And who is showing a big pile of cleavage. You know, I am SOOOOOO sick of seeing boob crack and butt crack it isn’t funny. I read that the pant styles are moving more towards the waist – yay – I can’t wait for that to kick in so I don’t have to be blinded with thongs, cracks and fat waists. Now all we have to do is raise the shirt line to above the cleavage – way above. I was really disappointed when I saw Oprah showing boob crack. It is so not necessary!

I was a teenager in the 70’s with the halter tops, hip huggers and micro mini skirts that you could see girl’s butts if they walked ahead of you up the stairs (gross). I wore my skirts 3″ above my knee – that’s it, and I felt nude doing that. I’m not a prude, but I like to keep my bod covered in public. My Dad always said, and he still will say, that men like mystery and a challenge. I’ve confirmed this with many of my male friends – you know the ones that wouldn’t get in trouble if they said otherwise. So hanging everything you got out in public is not a mystery or a challenge, is it? Personally I’d rather use my brain to attract / keep a man than my body!

Okay, now on to the boys. I was driving from the gym to the store the other day, and saw a guy on a bike who had the top of his pants down under his butt sitting on them showing a big pile of boxers on his backside. I also saw a guy at the gym whose pants fell down around his knees, showing his boxers, and he kept lifting as if his fallen pants were okay with him. Do these guys have no feelings, or do they enjoy hanging their underwear out in public? There was a guy at school who had his boxers hanging out about four inches above his pants and I told him to cover his underwear. He said he didn’t want to, he didn’t care they were hanging out. To me, underwear is just that, under – wear. Something you wear under your clothes. I really don’t care to see it, or skin that should be covered, it’s all gross.

All I can say is I’m glad I’m not a male trying to deal with all this ‘sex in my face’ all over the place.

All right, I’m off my rant now. I promise to get back to nature later.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne
    Aug 17, 2006 @ 15:24:56

    Rant on Pam!

    I thought I was the only one that found all that offensive. What has happened to MODESTY?? As a mom of boy-12 and girl-13 I have worked hard trying to teach my kids about modesty. It’s one thing to be comfortable in your own skin, but another thing to show it all!

    I’m so with you on your rant!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Aug 17, 2006 @ 16:50:45

    Thanks Lynne! I thought I was the only one who couldn’t stand all of this! I rec’d a phone call about my blog rants and I was feeling like I should remove them, but hey, it’s how I feel.

    I can’t even imagine being a Mom these days – I give you a lot of credit for working hard to teach your kids about being modest, yet having them feel good about their bodies. I wish you great success with your kids!

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Aug 17, 2006 @ 21:55:36

    My girls are almost 5 and almost 3, but when I see hip-huggers and crop tops in size 3T, I get mad. REAL mad. There’s enough pressure on teenagers to have sex and be older than they are, and the fashion industry hands out clothes that don’t cover everything?
    (Now that I am a parent, I see why my parents wouldn’t let me out of the house with some of my favorite outfits!)

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Aug 18, 2006 @ 08:45:53

    What floors me is when I hear of Mothers who encourage their daughters to dress with much less clothing. If your parents don’t protect them, what chance do they have? You go Susan – protecting those dear daughters of yours.
    Another thing that floors me is teenagers talking about sex in public like it’s normal and okay.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

