Hummingbird, Erie Canal, Onanda Park

I took a JavaScript class today, and felt all boxed in by the time I got home from being inside all day, so I went out on my deck for a few minutes before dinner and I saw a hummingbird feeding on the orange cosmos for a minute, and then it went onto the powerline and sat there for what seemed like f-o-r-e-v-e-r. If I went in to get my camera it would have been gone. It’s like I need to walk around with the camera around my neck *all* of the time. I would like to catch one before they leave for the winter. If not, there’s next year.

And as I was leaving class I realized I should have brought my camera there, too, because the building I was in is right on the Erie canal, and as I was leaving in my vehicle I had to wait for the lift bridge AND a train. Way to really back up traffic, but it would have been enough time to take some cool photos!

So since I was so bad about not photographing my day’s events, I’ll leave you with these photos from Onanda Park in Canandaigua that I took on March 4, 2004. This is the Lower Falls of Barnes Creek that flows into Canandaigua Lake:

Onanda Park Lower Falls 03042004

And I turned to the east and took this photo of Canandaigua Lake. I’ll share other better photos of and from this park later:

Onanda Park view of Canandaigua Lake 03042004

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Aug 21, 2006 @ 21:44:07

    That is Murphy’s Law of Birding, you know…you can get really good shots only IF you don’t have your camera.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Aug 22, 2006 @ 07:06:39

    That seems to be the way! It’s all in my head and it’s fantastic. I just wish I could share those pictures.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

