Cicada Shell, Tufted Titmice, Laundry Basket, etc.

I found this Cicada Shell on my house today:

22August2006 001c

I would love to see one of these shedding its skin. I’ve seen snakes shed, but not a cicada. This is so cool!
22August2006 003c

Hah birds, I caught ya! I was on my way out the door to photograph the sky for the incoming storm that never occurred, and a bunch of Tufted Titmice were flitting about on my deck. Here’s the ones I captured:

22August2006 009c

22August2006 008c

I never did get to the clouds because the phone rang. And now the sky is all innocent looking.

This laundry basket is really awesome – for a plastic laundry basket, that is. It has a place for your hip or abdomen to go. It is very comfortable, you know, for a laundry basket. You probably already know about this, but I don’t shop much at all. This was bought at K-Mart – Essential Home brand:
22August2006 004c

Yup, those are my bare tootsies at the bottom – I hate shoes with a passion!

And last, but certainly not least, Susan Gets Native blogged the other day about the Big Muskie Bucket at the bottom of this blog entry. I got to thinking, if the bucket is that huge, just how HUGE is the machine that was behind it. So I did an internet search and came up with the Noble County Ohio website that has tons of photos of the machine. That thing has to be gigantic and powerful! My Dad will love this one, if he doesn’t already know about it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Aug 23, 2006 @ 22:59:36

    I have a pic of the original machine that the bucket was on, but I didn’t have your email address.
    Love the flowers, cicada, and I have a basket like that! Way more comfortable than the goofy square ones!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Aug 24, 2006 @ 18:48:08

    Hi Susan,
    Great! I sent you my email!
    Oh yeah, I love the laundry basket. I’m done dealing with those square and rectangular ones!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

