Cooking, Baking, Digital Scrapbooking

Today I was in the mood to cook and bake because I’m sick of sandwiches for lunch. So I made some cornbread out of blue cornmeal (I saw that first and I was too lazy to look for yellow cornmeal). I used the recipe out of Laurel’s Kitchen cookbook. And I made some veggie soup out of the Fit for Life cookbook. And I have a pot of baked beans baking in the oven – Mom’s recipe using my Grandmother’s old-fashioned bean pot. Now I’m procrastinating on kitchen cleanup – argh!

I’ve also been playing with digital scrapbooking – okay, I told myself I wasn’t going to do it, but now I’m hooked. I downloaded the free software from Digital Scrapbooking, and have been looking for free paper and embellishments to add – there’s some pretty nice things out there! It kept me up late last night and so far I’ve created three pages. I have NO clue what I’m going to do with these pages – they’re 12 x 12, I guess I’ll just add them to Flickr for now.

I like the color and texture combination of this garden at Cornell Plantations:

12August2006 Cornell Plantations 066c

Now I’m going to shut the computer off so I’m not tempted to play with scrapbooking anymore. And go clean that kitchen.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Aug 24, 2006 @ 23:22:08

    Oh boy – more scrapbooking stuff. I’m an addict, too – I share your pain!

    Would love to see one your pages.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Aug 25, 2006 @ 18:29:53

    It’s not like I don’t have enough hobbies and work to keep me happy! But some of the scrapbooking kits are sooo pretty! I’ll post a page on the blog when I make one I really like! I’d love to see one of your pages, too!

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Aug 26, 2006 @ 00:33:31

    Blogging seems to have taken the place of scrapbooking lately. They’re similar, don’t you think?

    Scrapbooking has gotten very *fancy* of late – can’t imagine the time it takes to complete some of the pages I see in magazines – my pages are so simplistic by comparison.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Aug 26, 2006 @ 07:36:30

    You’re right now that I think about it. I’ve see some really nice blogs – yours being one of them.

    I’m glad to hear you say that your pages are simplistic, so are mine and I kind of like them that way. I know people that can really jazz things up to make them look nice, but that’s not the way I am.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

