Big Old Trees and Hills

I love going to Onondaga County to do and see several things. As I was driving down the hill on Rt. 20 going west from LaFayette to Cardiff – one very steep hill – I took some photos. This one is near the top of the hill, going down the part where it isn’t too steep – yet:
25August2006-001c

Here I am about 1/3 of the way down the hill:

25August2006-003c

Please excuse the blue windshield at the top. Here I am about 1/2 way down the hill:
25August2006-004c

This hill just continues forever. It’s not very nice on the vehicle brakes. I didn’t capture a photo at the bottom looking up at the hills – they’re wonderful – maybe another day! I’ll have to stop and get out – it’s very tricky at the bottom because the road curves.
Another thing I love is the South Onondaga Cemetery because several of my family members are buried there, it’s out in the country, I like doing genealogy, and I love the very old trees there. These are all Sugar Maples, and they are absolutely gorgeous in the fall:

25August2006-007c

Here’s another very old Sugar Maple:

25August2006-012c

This garden dedicated to Harold Abbott has been added near the rear of the cemetery:

25August2006-009c

Harold Abbott lived in South Onondaga and was the caretaker of the cemetery for many years until he died just recently.
25August2006-010c

Yup, I love this county. As I was driving along today I saw several trees just starting to turn color. Very pretty! I love fall, almost as much as spring and summer!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Aug 25, 2006 @ 21:50:07

    I couldn’t believe it when I saw a tree that was completely yellow today! Does it not know that it’s still August???

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Aug 26, 2006 @ 07:32:58

    Wow! Poor trees, they’ve got the signal to send their sugars to the roots with the cool August weather, and now it will probably warm up in September.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

