Help for my Old Photographs

I went to work for OHA yesterday with website / Photoshop guru Karen (we’re launching a new website for OHA Sept. 1), and she gave me some great tips on how to restore old photos in Photoshop. The photo we worked on is the farm in Vermont where my Great Grandfather Henry C. Stebbins was born. This is how the photo looked after I scanned it in at 300 dpi:

Stebbins Farm Johnson VT Henry Stebbins birthplace

Yucky, huh? This is the way the photo looks after Karen showed me some of her PhotoShop tips – and she showed me what I still need to do with it, but I was so excited I had to show you the way it looks now:
Stebbins Farm Johnson VT Henry Stebbins birthplace-2

I have a ton of old photos that need this type of help. This is definitely a winter-time project. For now, I’m off to visit another one of my favorite gardens with my Mom.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Aug 28, 2006 @ 22:22:24

    Photoshop is amazing – wish it weren’t so hard to learn.

    My DH had an old photo refurbished – it was really interesting to see the way it was done in steps and layers.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Aug 29, 2006 @ 09:48:11

    I can’t believe what exists in the pixels from what I scanned in. Who would have known! Karen showed me on her version of Photoshop – Photoshop Elements – which is a more reasonable, user friendly version.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

