Rosa’s Garden, Full Moon, Eaglet

I spent the afternoon and evening at my friend Rosa’s home – this year she got rid of most of the grass in her back yard and planted tons of flowers making a very beautiful garden. There were butterflies and bees all over the place. Yes, I brought the camera and had every intention of taking photos for you, but you know when you’re with friends you really enjoy time passes very quickly and it got dark before I realized it. After a garden tour, we ended up eating the most excellent appetizers and dessert (very filling), going over Caroline’s landscape design, looking through tree books, doing slideshows of our horticulture trip photos (of which we didn’t take too many because it was way too crowded in New York City), and going through plant catalogs. Rosa is moving to Michigan, I am very sad for myself, but very happy for her, because she’ll be close to MSU, a land-grant school where she can continue her horticulture education – yay for her!

On the way home at 9:00 the moon was full and beautiful, especially as I was crossing the bay bridge – the moonlight on the water was gorgeous. I had thoughts of getting the camera out to take a photo of it, but it is bad enough driving across the bridge with two hands on the steering wheel, without adding the camera factor. When I got home I had every intention of shooting the moon, but it got shy on me and hid behind the Shagbark Hickory. So here I am again, photo-less, after seeing all of this beauty.

What I can’t get out of my mind was the spider exoskeleton I saw on Birdchick’s Blog on September 6, 2006. I didn’t know that some spiders outgrew their exoskeleton. It flips its lid, then somehow gets leverage to climb out of its old self. Part of me is fascinated, and the other part is really creeped out over a giant spider with four eyes getting even bigger and crawling out of itself. Argh. I’ll keep my little spiders of the northeast.

And I’ll leave you with a scan of an Eaglet I’ve been saving for you from Kaatskill Life’s Summer 2006 magazine, Vol. 21, No. 2, pg. 60:

pg 60

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne
    Sep 08, 2006 @ 09:49:42

    Sounds like a perfectly perfect afternoon and evening! The eaglet looks like he belongs in a super-hero movie.

    Reply

  2. Laura
    Sep 08, 2006 @ 23:14:35

    Gorgeous bird – is that a Golden?

    It’s enough that you got to see so many beutiful things – the *pictures* are in your mind and memory.

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Sep 09, 2006 @ 00:13:04

    I guess since you are photo-less today, I will picture the flowers, bees and moon in my mind…..ooohhhh….aaahhhhh.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Sep 09, 2006 @ 09:53:58

    Hi Lynne, It was a great day with great friends! I thought everyone would like that eaglet.
    Hi Laura, I’m sorry, I don’t know what kind it is! I love the feet, is that what would make it a Golden? Oh yeah, the beautiful pictures are in my memory.
    Hi Susan, The eaglet wanted you to see him!

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Sep 09, 2006 @ 14:24:12

    BTW: That’s a juvenile Bald Eagle.

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Sep 09, 2006 @ 17:02:01

    Thanks Susan!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

