Bird Id Help Please

In going through our Horticulture Trip photos, Rosa and I came across these photos of two birds I captured that we don’t what they are. Can you please help us? We saw them at Wave Hill in Manhattan, NY on April 29, 2006. This first one had a beautiful, variable song:

HT06-WH-077c

This momma was very still, her nest being on the inside of the gazebo:

HT06-WH-092c

I really appreciate any help you can give me!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lorianne
    Sep 09, 2006 @ 12:00:26

    The top one’s a mockingbird. And the face of the nesting bird looks like a robin (as does the nest), but it’s hard to tell without seeing more of the bird.

    Reply

  2. Sandy
    Sep 09, 2006 @ 12:54:49

    I think the top one is a mockingbird. We have them in Maine, but only in the summer.

    Reply

  3. Lynne
    Sep 09, 2006 @ 14:10:23

    I think the bottom one is an American Robin.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Sep 09, 2006 @ 14:17:21

    Thank you so much Lorianne, Sandy and Lynne! Oh my, I can’t believe I didn’t know the bottom one was an American Robin! I guess because she was hiding her red breast! I’ll be sure to tell Rosa.

    Reply

  5. Laura
    Sep 12, 2006 @ 00:53:44

    Yep and yep.

    A bit late.

    😉

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Sep 12, 2006 @ 08:26:47

    Thanks Laura!

    Reply

  7. Ann Bell
    Sep 12, 2006 @ 09:49:37

    I didn’t realize that mockingbirds weren’t everywhere. In Houston, where I live, it certainly feels like they are! They have been known to dive-bomb a cat. Once I saw a newspaper story about a mail-carrier who was being harrassed daily while delivering mail to a particular house.

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Sep 12, 2006 @ 11:37:26

    Hi Ann, I didn’t realize that either. OMG, I also didn’t realize it would dive-bomb cats and people. This one I saw was singing his heart out for quite a while.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

