Converting Slides to Digital format?

Does anyone know how to convert old slides to digital format without it costing an arm and a leg? I don’t mind doing it myself as I’m converting my family’s old photos to digital format. I was looking at Dharma Bums blog entry for today and saw a beautiful photo submitted by Pam (I like her name – hee hee) of a converted slide. It reminded me that I have quite a few nice slides to convert to digital format. Thanks for any advice you can give!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Sep 12, 2006 @ 00:56:35

    Want me to ask Pam how she did it?

    We’re both on the Whorled Leaves blog – she’s very helpful when it comes to phtotgraphy stuff.

    Let me know and I’ll email her.

    I’d guess you could scan your slides; not sure what the quality would be.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Sep 12, 2006 @ 08:22:52

    Yes, please, I would really appreciate knowing how she did it, because her slide turned out beautifully.

    Reply

  3. Ann Bell
    Sep 12, 2006 @ 09:56:55

    This problem comes up frequently for an artist. I purchased a scanner (with slide-scanning kit included) about 3 years ago for around $300.
    It is a Epson Perfection 3170Photo scanner that has the capability of scanning slides. It has a white cover concealing an extra light in the lid. When you can a slide, you remove this cover and use an included black plastic mask to frame the slide. This forces the light to go through the slide.

    You also have to increase the resolution in your scanning software and choose “transparency”–Since the slide is so much smaller, the resolution needs to be very high.

    I have gotten great scans from slides.

    Hope this helps.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Sep 12, 2006 @ 11:35:02

    Hi Ann, Thank you so very much for the detailed information! I appreciate it so much, especially coming from an artist! This is exactly the information I have been looking to find for quite a while now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

