This Date, Adirondacks

I don’t like this date – 9/11 – it’s the first date in my lifetime where I remember where I was when I heard the news five years ago – in my most unfavorate place – the bathroom at work washing my hands – when my co-worker Andrea, who had just come to work from a dentist app’t, came in crying, and asked me if I heard the news. My parents and I were talking about it last night, and they have another day when they remember exactly what they were doing. The day JFK was shot. Fortunately I wasn’t old enough to have that memory. But I do remember air raid drills in elementary school, which totally scared me to near death. There were two forms – one was crawling under my desk in a ball and hiding my face; the other one was lining up in the hallway, face to the wall, with arms up and crossed and head buried in my arms. I remember my parents discussing where we should go in the house in the case of a Soviet attack on the US. These air raid drills were after the Cuban Missile Crisis in ’62, but I guess tension was still high (I don’t know, I was just a little kid). My parents remember air raid drills during WWII for entire towns. When the town siren sounded, all lights in the house had to be turned off. Planes would fly over, and my Mom said she used to be so scared – she thought they were being attacked.

So to ease the stress of thinking about this day and other events that it may remind us of, I’m leaving you with a gorgeous photo taken in the Adirondacks on Aug 17, 2004:

2004-08-17-Adirondacksc

This is so peaceful to me, something I absolutely love, and I don’t take it for granted.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Sep 11, 2006 @ 21:32:20

    That’s a much nicer image to focus on that two burning towers. Thanks, lady!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Sep 11, 2006 @ 21:49:41

    You’re welcome, Susan!

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Sep 12, 2006 @ 01:01:23

    Thanks for the pretty pic – love the Adirondacks (but not the black flies!)

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Sep 12, 2006 @ 08:24:08

    Ohhh, you’re right, those black flies are nasty! I remember fishing in a beautiful spot there and coming home with some nasty fly bites.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

