Baby It’s Cold Outside, Hot Water Heater

I can’t believe how *cold* it has been outside recently! When I went to the gym yesterday morning, the thermometer read only 40 degrees F. That’s only 8 degrees from freezin’ (okay, you already know that)! I’m not ready for this. I still am trying to wear shorts and tank tops here. But yesterday I washed all of my bedding from bottom to top, and put on my winter quilt. I refuse to put on my down comforter – yet. Or to wear my flannel pj’s or use flannel sheets. It seems like I just washed and packed my winter bedding away safely in the attic. I remember it like yesterday, because the day that I washed all of the bedding, my hot water heater started leaking from the top – and it was only eight years old. That was in May. And the next day I had to buy a new hot water heater.

I watched the plumber install it and I quizzed him why a hot water heater would go so fast. This is the deal that nobody wants you to know, except my plumber and those nice guys on Ask This Old House. Hot water heaters need to be drained (not completely) periodically, because they start filling up with sludge, so letting it drain once a month or so until the water is clear gets the sludge out and lengthens the life of the hot water heater. He told me about this old man who would drain his hot water heater every week, and it never needed to be replaced. The only reason why it was replaced was the old man died, and the son was trying to sell the home and it wouldn’t sell with such an old hot water heater.

Just thought I’d share this money saving tip with you in case you want to try to lengthen the life of your hot water heater.  I have a garden hose on mine, and just need to use a large screwdriver to open the valve.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne
    Sep 12, 2006 @ 09:32:22

    Thanks for the tip Pam- I’ll drain mine this weekend. It’s been pretty cool in MN too but I am LOVING it! (Remind me that I said that in February!!)

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Sep 12, 2006 @ 11:28:00

    You’re welcome Lynne! When I found this out I told everyone I knew, and kept meaning to post it here.
    I prefer the cooler weather, too! I was thinking my winter quilt has to be on my bed until next May – for nine months – so I thought I’d make another one this winter if I get a chance because I get so bored with the one I have about mid-winter.

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Sep 12, 2006 @ 22:24:19

    I wore flannel pj’s last night (with the windows wide open!)

    Love for my nose to be cold when I sleep, I guess!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Sep 13, 2006 @ 08:41:21

    I love to sleep with the windows open year round. It does get mighty cold in the dead of winter though! But it so refreshing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

