Lookit What I Saw Out the Window Today!

The spotted babies! Except they are getting bigger and losing their spots – you go babies! Okay, let me set this up, we’ve gotten almost 2″ of rain in the last two days and my back yard is ultra-saturated, so these babies are lying in very wet grass. These photos were taken through the window, so they’re not as clear as they should be. First they were lying there peacefully:

15Sep2006-001c

And then the one looking towards me got scared and started for the woods:

15Sep2006-004c

Here’s a butt photo of it heading into the woods:

15Sep2006-007c

And the other one got wind that there was possible danger lurking nearby:

15Sep2006-008c

Just a few little spots left! These babies are getting so big!  Stay safe babies!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne
    Sep 15, 2006 @ 12:46:45

    How lucky for you to see them grow over the summer- and we get to watch with you! I wonder how long the siblings will stay together. Any idea?

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Sep 15, 2006 @ 17:46:51

    I asked my expert animal person and he says deer will stay together as a family with their Mom until they start to mate, which is usually after two years. BTW, I saw the Mom this afternoon. She was gone by the time I got the camera ready.

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Sep 15, 2006 @ 21:47:25

    Oooohhh….my teeth hurt!
    I was in awe when I learned a while back that twins are the norm for deer…a single is the rarity. Cool, huh? And probably why there are so darn many of them!

    Reply

  4. Laura
    Sep 15, 2006 @ 22:57:06

    Can’t help being reminded of my bunnies when I see their tails!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Sep 16, 2006 @ 11:15:18

    Hi Susan, Yeah, it is cool they have twins, they’re so cute, but like you said, there’s way too many of them!
    Hi Laura, I love their tails – they do remind me of bunnies!
    I forgot to mention that the first deer stretched his hind legs after he got up – I’ve never seen them do that.

    Reply

  6. Sandy
    Sep 16, 2006 @ 11:20:44

    You either have a great camera, or they are close! Great shots of the family.

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Sep 16, 2006 @ 11:42:13

    Hi Sandy, They’re close! That’s what’s surprising. This neighborhood is so quiet (just the way I like it) the deer feel safe wandering around the street, in the front yard, and laying around in the back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

