Momma Deerest and Noisy Chipmunk

The Momma Deer came visiting yesterday afternoon as I went out to get the mail. By the time I got the camera loaded, she was already headed for the woods:

16Sep2006-001

This next little fellow was very loud and still a few minutes ago, long enough for me to snap a picture through the window screen:

16Sep2006-002

I love his little belly and pantaloons!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne
    Sep 16, 2006 @ 15:01:57

    Chippies always remind me of little old men- just add suspenders and a cane or a walker! They are so much cuter than their squirrel cousins.

    Reply

  2. Lynne
    Sep 16, 2006 @ 15:04:30

    I can see Mama’s ribs. Do deer fatten up before winter? Maybe her twins are running her ragged!

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Sep 16, 2006 @ 15:20:34

    Hi Lynne, I was thinking the Chippie looked like a little old man myself! I can see the suspenders and a cane!
    I was wondering about Mama’s ribs myself. I’ll ask my animal expert.

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Sep 16, 2006 @ 21:09:10

    That chipmunk is definitely adding on the winter fat. He has cankles!
    I think the mamma deer is a little thin, but deer don’t pack on a lot of weight, anyway. And they are pregnant during the winter, so they round out anyway.

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Sep 17, 2006 @ 04:53:50

    Cankles! That’s a good one. He definitely is a fatty.
    Thanks for the deer info. My animal expert said that deer can get pregnant twice a year, so if you add that up with the fact that the babies hang around for two years, that poor mother could have eight babies in tow at one time. He said that’s why they limit the number of doe that can be hunted – they don’t want a bunch of motherless babies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

