Garden Snake, Sedums

Since the sun was actually shining today and it was nice and warm, Mom and I worked in her gardens. After we were done, we saw her garden snake sunning itself – it was sitting there with its head up for quite a while. This photo is taken through a window:

17Sep2006-014

This snake gets his full of snails around the gardens, as we see many empty shells scattered around.

Here’s some of the fall Sedum in blossom in Mom’s gardens:

17Sep2006-009

17Sep2006-010

17Sep2006-011

We’re also looking at another sedum to add to this collection, called ‘Cloud Walker.’ It has pink flower heads and burgundy leaves. I love sedum of all types, because it is so hardy, and because it reminds me of southwestern plants.

And now I have some slides from my parents, so I’m off to check out how well they scan.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Sep 17, 2006 @ 22:48:41

    Beautiful pics of the sedums – the snake is sort of neat, too.

    I’m surprised there’s no bugs on the sedums in your pics – the little bit I have here is covered with bees and tiny little flies – they love the stuff!

    Reply

  2. Lynne
    Sep 18, 2006 @ 13:57:53

    I really didn’t know that sedum blooms varied in color. Very pretty!

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Sep 18, 2006 @ 21:00:19

    Hi Laura, The sedums were covered with bees before I took the photos – I don’t know where they all went for the photoshoot!
    Hi Lynne, I didn’t realize there were so many different types of fall sedums either! I’m looking to put some more variety in my garden, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

