Scanning Old Slides, or Proof that I Climbed Trees

I’ve been scanning my grandparents’ slides in between working, and have really been enjoying the trip down memory lane. My grandmother was a real shutterbug – she would have loved a digital camera – but at the same time kind of a pain in the rear-end when you’re a kid and she asked you to stop what you’re doing while she fiddled with her camera. Now I’m thankful she was good about taking so many photos. The set I just scanned were beautiful fall scenery photos that I will share with you when it becomes fall here. For now, I found photo proof that I used to try to climb trees. Here I am as a young girl climbing an evergreen. After a couple times up and down this tree, I was forbidden because I made the tree bleed (it makes me sad that I did that):

1969-08a-005

The above slide is from the summer of ’69. I find it really interesting that some of the slides are excellent, and some are really bad, even ones from the same batch. Go figure. The above is one that isn’t the best, but it isn’t the worst, either.

Here’s another slide of an unknown river – it could be the Lamoille River in Vermont since my grandparents travelled quite frequently to Vermont to visit family, etc. that live near this river.

1968-12a-010

It’s fun undercovering these beautiful treasures! I can barely sleep at night!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne
    Sep 18, 2006 @ 21:46:47

    Cute little girl- peeking through the branches!

    Reply

  2. Susan Gets Native
    Sep 18, 2006 @ 23:07:50

    A tree hugger from the start! Yay!
    And how in the heck do you scan slides? Just stick them in there like a photo?

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Sep 19, 2006 @ 09:42:47

    Thanks Lynne, I can’t believe my Mom used to let me climb trees when I was so young!
    Hi Susan – Oh yeah, I hugged ’em, climbed ’em, played around ’em, planted their seeds, etc. Now I just hug ’em and plant ’em.
    Scanning slides requires a photo scanner that will scan slides – I found a couple at my local Staples. For the HP scanner I have, the white part on the lid snaps off, you fill a template full of 16 slides, and select that you’re scanning slides in the software so the scanner light will scan from the top sending light through the slides. And the slides have to be in the right direction. The first time I did it all of my slides came out backwards!

    Reply

  4. Sandy
    Sep 19, 2006 @ 10:52:28

    You don’t look very big way up there. Didn’t you get sap on your arms and legs??

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Sep 19, 2006 @ 11:06:15

    Hi Sandy, Yup, I got sap on my arms, legs and clothes. My poor mother, now that I look back, I used to love getting dirty, the dirtier the better, and she used to wash my clothes and get them very clean without saying a thing. I still don’t mind getting dirt on myself and clothes while gardening.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

