Letchworth Park and the Results of Hurricane Ernesto

This post is way late, since I’m going back to Labor Day weekend when my parents vacationed at Letchworth Park, also known as the Grand Canyon of the north east (not quite, in my opinion, but that’s okay). They arrived on Friday, September 1st, and the Middle Falls of Letchworth looked like this:

100_0141

Pretty innocent looking, right? Then two days of constant heavy rain from Hurricane Ernesto occurred. I had the responsibility of both my home and my parents’ home, watching to ensure basements didn’t flood, feeding the cat, etc. And on Sunday they took photos of the Middle Falls again:
100_0157

Some difference, huh? My Dad described the falls as the water was acting like it didn’t know which direction it should go, up or down, there was just so much of it:

100_0160

They also said the water roared, when normally it’s nice and peaceful.

100_0158

I wanted to go on a Geology Tour of the Lower Falls on Monday, Sept 4th. The ground is normally very muddy, but with this excess water, I decided to take another tour on a better day.

These falls are part of the Genesee River, the only river I know of that flows north. Here is the dam to protect the towns in between here and Rochester, NY itself from flooding:

100_0177

The water behind this dam is normally very low this time of year, but not after all of the rain. I’m not sure how tall this dam is, but when I’ve seen it in person, it seemed much bigger than this photo shows. I’m glad I wasn’t there. I would have been v-e-r-y afraid.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Sep 19, 2006 @ 22:36:05

    The pictures of the falls after the rain made my knees feel watery.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Sep 20, 2006 @ 07:13:32

    I could barely look the photos the first time my parents showed them to me.

    Reply

  3. Lynne
    Sep 21, 2006 @ 09:24:24

    WOW!! I can nearly feel the rumble through the pictures. I would be scared to death to be there!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Sep 21, 2006 @ 19:05:08

    Ohhh, rumble is a good way of putting it. I can’t believe my parents got so close to the falls to capture the photos. Glad it wasn’t me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

