Family Dinner Day

I feel sad that there actually has to be a day dedicated to families having dinner together, that the norm is families don’t sit down together – ever? Not even on Saturday or Sunday? Oh well, I don’t understand it. As I continue going through my Grandparents’ slides, one of the main themes is dinner-time. We always had to have our photo taken before, during and/or after dinner, didn’t matter if your mouth was full or you were hungry or thirsty. But we were together and those are my memories. Here is my Grandmother in 1963 in front of her dinner table before a big dinner – maybe we were coming over, maybe someone else, I haven’t gotten that far in the slides yet.

1963-07-009

I love eating dinner together with family. There’s usually plenty of good conversation and laughter. I can’t imagine being so busy that I couldn’t take time to make and eat a good dinner with family.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Sep 25, 2006 @ 22:24:49

    My husband’s family gets together almost every weekend for Grandma’s spaghetti. It’s such a tradition, some of them use the same plate every week, sit in the same seat every week….
    That’s a groovy dress your Grandma is wearing!
    🙂

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Sep 26, 2006 @ 09:09:07

    Mmmmm, the typical weekly Italian spaghetti dinner! The tradition of creating an excellent pot of homemade sauce that has been cooking all Saturday night, the giant pot of spaghetti, and doling out dishes of spags to whoever drops by on Sunday – how cool is that!
    Yeah, the 60’s and 70’s produced some very funky clothes.

    Reply

  3. Sandy
    Sep 26, 2006 @ 17:47:56

    Well, your shots are better than our old photos. I have tons of shots with the family sitting around the table after we ate, dirty dishes everywhere. I could tell you exactly when cool whip or spray whip cream was on the market by looking at those photos.
    Southerners sit and visit after they eat, up here, at my mother in laws house, you have to hold on to your plate to get the last bite, she is up clearing the table so fast.

    Reply

  4. Laura
    Sep 26, 2006 @ 21:42:10

    My dad was big on everyone sitting down to eat together every day. Seems like people make that so hard to do nowadays.

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Sep 26, 2006 @ 21:51:41

    Hi Sandy, I have the dirty dishes photos, too, and it is interesting to see what came onto the market when.
    It’s interesting the different dinner “methods.” Some Italians – I’m not one, but I’ve been known to hang around them quite a bit 😉 – tend to push so much food onto you that you feel like you’re going to explode.
    I can’t stand having my plate cleared from me before I’m ready, because I eat real slow. That happens to me at restaurants.
    Hi Laura, My parents were big on eating dinner together, too. It seems so simple to me, but yet, I guess it isn’t.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

