Turtle

This turtle was on the other side of the state fence from my parents’ property a couple of years ago. He hung around for a couple of weeks and then disappeared. Once he was crossing the road, and some guy saved him – yowsa – I wouldn’t touch a snapping turtle for fear of getting one of my digits bit off to the quick, but the guy did, and he was alright. I named the turtle Yertle, you know, for Dr. Seuss’ ‘Yertle the Turtle’ one of my favorite childhood books. I thought this turtle was so cool!

SnappingTurtle2_06112004

And on this note, I’m off for a couple of days – hopefully I’ll have some interesting photos and stories for you when I blog again!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Sep 28, 2006 @ 22:27:58

    I think you just need to know how to pick them up – not that I would try!

    Have fun!

    Reply

  2. Susan Gets Native
    Sep 28, 2006 @ 22:46:00

    Humph!
    I guess we will wait for you.
    🙂

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Sep 29, 2006 @ 07:47:51

    I think so too, Laura, and I wouldn’t try either! My luck the turtle would have an extra long neck!
    I’m glad you’ll wait for me Susan! 🙂 I’m *hoping* to get some good photos – we’ll see!

    Reply

  4. Lynne
    Sep 29, 2006 @ 09:41:08

    Have a nice break!

    Snappers scare me. I wouldn’t touch one either- maybe a long stick for herding…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

