Saratoga Native American Festival

Mom and I went to Saratoga Springs this weekend, with the express purpose of attending the Saratoga Native American Festival held at The Saratoga Spa State Park. The Algonquian and Iroquoian Peoples were represented at this festival. Below are photos of the Grand Entrance Ceremony and Flag Ceremony. I *love* their beautiful regalia.

30Sep2006-015c

30Sep2006-014c 30Sep2006-018c 30Sep2006-021c

30Sep2006-030c

30Sep2006-032c 30Sep2006-023c

I love the little people!

30Sep2006-027c 30Sep2006-013c

We were allowed to photograph / take videos of this event, but there are certain sacred events that we aren’t allowed to photograph. I’m glad they clarified this because I was being respectful and kept the camera tucked away until the announcer said it was okay.

Here’s the Flag Ceremony:

30Sep2006-019c

The white guy in the yellow shirt is a Veteran of some war and he is holding the Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) flag, the Native American lady is holding the Mohican Nation flag, a Native American man is holding the American flag, and I’m not sure what the fourth flag represents.

I attended Middle School and High School with the Onondagas (part of the Iroquois), so some of our history lessons involved the Native Americans, which, along with having them as classmates, provided me with a great appreciation for them. More later!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne
    Oct 01, 2006 @ 22:06:18

    Sounds like a wonderful weekend with your Mom and the pictures are great. Such amazing clothing!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Oct 01, 2006 @ 22:17:42

    Hi Lynne, It was, and I have more stories for other blog entries. I love the colors of their traditional outfits.

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Oct 01, 2006 @ 22:25:54

    The colors are fantastic!

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Oct 01, 2006 @ 23:00:03

    Wow…what a cool thing to do.
    I met my first “real” native American way back when I was 19…he was Blackfoot. What a nice guy, and his house was FULL of awesome things that he had collected from pow wows he had attended.
    (He was quite easy on the eyes, too!)

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Oct 02, 2006 @ 08:32:17

    Hi Laura, My favorite outfit is the yellow/orange one as those are my two favorite colors.
    Hi Susan, I love looking at their cool stuff! Ummm, yeah, the Native Americans I went to school with were *very* good looking.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Nature Woman » (Partial) Year in Review Meme

Leave a Reply

