Gideon Putnam Hotel at Saratoga Spa State Park

This past weekend we stayed at the Gideon Putnam Hotel which is located within the Saratoga Spa State Park. The Gideon Putnam is an old Georgian revival period hotel and is a member of the Historic Hotel of Americas, which is part of The National Trust for Historic Preservation.

30Sep2006 042

From the Gideon Putnam we walked to the Saratoga Performing Arts Center (SPAC) which is within the park, and was quite a hike. We saw this beautiful birch tree along the way:

30Sep2006 005

We had to go around SPAC to get to the entrance. What a heart-break, as going around meant going through the woods. We saw a creek on our way:

30Sep2006 038 30Sep2006 036

And lots of pretty wildflowers:

30Sep2006 039

I’m not sure what this next thing is. It is along the creek. If anyone knows, please comment about it!

30Sep2006 034

On our walk back, I took the next photo. I didn’t realize until just now they call it The Avenue of the Pines:

30Sep2006 040

I used to live in Albany, NY, and would travel to Saratoga quite often for various events at the Gideon Putnam, so this past weekend added to the fond memories I have of this place.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Oct 03, 2006 @ 17:40:47

    Good photos, sounds like a fun weekend. I wonder if that is some sort of sweat lodge?

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Oct 04, 2006 @ 11:07:21

    Hi Sandy, It was a fun weekend! Thanks for your guess on the rock formation!

    Reply

  3. nathan
    Dec 30, 2006 @ 11:09:42

    I went to high school not far from Saratoga and I spent a fair amount of time in the village and also at the state park during the summers. Satatoga is of course famous for its mineral water among other things and what you have captured in your mystery photo is one of the more notable features along Geyser Creek known as Orenda Spring. The dome shaped structure you see is called a “tufa” which is basically a type of rock formed by the minerals in the spring water being deposited on the surface over time.

    I found your site while googling for Labrador Hollow trail information and without realizing it I have been sidetracked for the last 30 minutes reading some of the articles. I suppose that is a tribute to your excellent work and interesting content. I hope you keep it up and I’ll be sure to check back again.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Dec 30, 2006 @ 17:17:59

    Hi Nathan – Thank you so much for answering my question regarding this interesting structure. I’m amazed it’s natural.
    Are you going hiking along the Labrador Hollow trail? I love that area of the state. Please feel free to comment on anything I write! Thanks again. I hope you enjoy the new year.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Nature Woman » Tufa at Saratoga Spa State Park

Leave a Reply

