Fenimore Art Museum, Cooperstown, NY

We decided to take Route 20 back home on Sunday, and along the way, we saw a sign for Cooperstown down Rt. 80 so down we went and I’m glad we did! Rt. 80 runs down along Otsego Lake, a/k/a Glimmerglass, and it was gorgeous! We ended up stopping at the Fenimore Art Museum to see. . . the Grandma Moses (temporary) Exhibit!! Totally unexpected! Totally awesome! I love her artwork. Here’s just a couple of the pieces we saw: The Old Checkered House, 1959 from the New York State Historical Association’s Heritage magazine, Vol. 21:

Moses-TheOldCheckeredHouse-1959

And here’s her Sugaring Off, 1959 from the New York State Historical Association’s Heritage magazine, Vol. 21:

Moses-SugaringOff-1959

She used glitter in the above painting on the snow – it sparkled in the light, just like snow.  She got critized for this, along with painting her snow white – critics wanted the snow to be blue.  Blue?!  Whoever heard of blue snow?  I wonder where they were from that their snow was blue.  So she made her snow blue in one painting, and it looked unreal.  Oh well.  Don’t you just love the hominess and busy-ness of her paintings?

I also discovered another landscape artist that I love in the Cooper exhibit. They have the painting “Landscape Scene from Last of the Mohicans”, 1827, by Thomas Cole (1801-1848). You can see a poster of it here. No reprint does it justice. I couldn’t stop looking at the original – the colors and the details are phenomenal – right down to lichens on the boulders. I went searching for a Thomas Cole book with color reproductions, and found one on half.com via bookfinder.com (one of my favorite internet hangouts to find books at a good price). Can’t wait to get it – I know Media Mail takes forever – but I’ll be devouring the book when it arrives. In the meantime, I’m reading “The Last of the Mohicans” which goes along with the whole theme of my weekend anyway!

We need to go back to Cooperstown when have more time! Have you ever been to Cooperstown?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne
    Oct 05, 2006 @ 09:22:12

    The snow scene by Grandma Moses is beautiful, really love it. I also like used books. We have a Half Price Books store here in town that I visit regularly, but I wish they had their books electronically cataloged. But sometimes I find books browsing the shelves that I probably wouldn’t have found otherwise! I finally found Hal Borland’s “Sundial of the Seasons” on ebay! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Oct 05, 2006 @ 17:15:21

    There is a used bookstore that I stop in every time I travel Rt. 20 towards Albany, and they were the ones that told me about bookfinder.com a few years ago. They said they sell more books online than with people dropping in! But like you, I still love to browse and find that one book I’ve been looking for.
    Ohhh, “Sundial of the Seasons” sounds good (of course I had to go look it up before I commented here)!

    Reply

  3. Sandy
    Oct 05, 2006 @ 17:27:57

    No, I haven’t been there, but sounds like a nice place to vist. Books by a Mainer who writes mysteries from upper new york state have me interested in that area, already. Have you read Julia Fleming-Spencer?

    My favorite Grandma Moses paintings are the ones with snow.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Oct 05, 2006 @ 19:29:30

    Hi Sandy, I love a good mystery – especially ones written with Upstate New York as the setting! Thank you so much for a new author. Which one is your favorite? I’ll add these to my list of books to take out from the library.
    Have you ever read any books by Miriam Grace Monfredo? They are historical suspense novels set in Seneca Falls, NY around the First Women’s Rights Convention in 1848. The first one is “Seneca Falls Inheritence.” Excellent books!

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Oct 05, 2006 @ 22:20:25

    I think I know where they were coming from when they criticized her for using white for snow. It’s like clouds…ever notice that they are NEVER all white? They are gray, blue, yellow…
    but I bet the glitter made that painting awesome.

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Oct 05, 2006 @ 22:32:36

    Hi Susan, Yeah, the glitter made the painting great! Yup, I know what you mean about snow and cloud color. The painting where she tried to make blue snow turned out way too blue – she went way overboard with the blue, maybe just a tint of blue mixed in with the white would have looked much better.

    Reply

  7. Laura
    Oct 06, 2006 @ 21:35:39

    The calendar that hangs in my kitchen this year has prints very similar to these – I love the simplicity!

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Oct 06, 2006 @ 22:41:16

    Hi Laura,
    I love the simplicity too. I’ve had X-Mas paper and card snow scenes of her artwork in the past. I hope I find some more this year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

