Exhibition Environments

This past Thursday I attended the 2nd Conservation Preservation workshop presented by Cornell University, and as usual, I came out with many great tips for preparing a museum exhibition. And . . . it included a hands on lab again! Yay! I love hands on projects. Okay, so this is what we did.

First, we mounted a postcard on a mat that was slightly larger than the postcard, and strapped the corners down with mylar strips.

05Oct2006-001

On the back side, I used scotch tape to tape the mylar down. Scotch tape is okay in this case since it isn’t touching the original document:

05Oct2006-002

Looks like a big mess, huh? It doesn’t matter – nobody sees that side. And it was my first time. I like the postcard. It was designed by Pat for the Cornell libraries – where food and beverage is not allowed. Pat was our hands-on instructor for this class. I’ll blog (rant) about food and drink in libraries later.

The next is a facsimile of a postcard of a cyanotype from the Liberty Hyde Bailey collection at Cornell. Cyanotypes (and blueprints) are very sensitive to any light exposure, so you most likely won’t find originals in any exhibition.

05Oct2006-005

Since this is a copy, it doesn’t need to be protected with the mylar strips at the corners and can be slightly larger than the mat. I built a stand for it.

05Oct2006-006

And last, but not least, I built a book stand, which is specific for this book – Korean Short Stories – well, this is one book in my home I won’t be reading any time soon!

05Oct2006a-002

Here’s a side view of the book stand that I designed. The book didn’t want to open up very far, which is why it isn’t flatter. The stand really is straight, the photo makes it look crooked:
05Oct2006a-003

And I had to add this “z” piece to stablize the left side:

05Oct2006a-004

If you want to see professional work like the examples above, check out Nevermore: The Edgar Alan Poe exhibition at Cornell University and Liberty Hyde Bailey: A Man For All Seasons at Cornell University. If you go to the bottom of each page, you can see a photo of the exhibition cases.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Oct 07, 2006 @ 23:14:35

    Wow! You get to do such cool stuff.
    ***jealous!***
    BTW: I haven’t read your entire blog, so forgive this question.
    What exactly do you DO? Is this conservation class for work or a hobby? I am offically requesting a post about what you do (or direction to a previous post that explains it already)

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Oct 08, 2006 @ 20:11:36

    Hi Susan – It would be fun if you were there with me in class! The teachers are so cool!
    I’ll work on a post about what I do, because it isn’t a simple answer these days! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

