Baby Deer

I almost captured a photo of the two baby deer feeding in my backyard this morning – I had the camera all loaded and set to click – and then the neighbor lady came outside to clean up her dog’s poop from the lawn, and the deer took off. But what is so cool – they’ve lost their little spots and have completely brown fur like their parents, but they are still cute and small. On my way home tonight, three babies crossed the road in front of my vehicle – I didn’t expect the third one to come out of the woods, I’m glad I waited. I used to have the nickname ‘deerslayer’ when I was younger, I don’t want to continue earning that name. Nope, because every time I’ve ever hurt a deer, I have jerked tears over it. I don’t like killing *anything.*

It was a gorgeous 70 degrees here while the sun was shining, so it was perfect to continue putting gardens to bed. Except for the sedum, asters, dahlias and mums, those are all still gorgeous. I’ll get photos of these for another day.

The leaves are still basically green on the trees around here near the lake. And there hasn’t been a frost here yet, either.  I’m waiting, because I love fall colors and raking leaves for my garden.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Oct 09, 2006 @ 22:40:07

    The weather has been beautiful the last two days here also. Nice to work in the garden when it isn’t so hot, isn’t it?

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Oct 10, 2006 @ 18:47:03

    Yes, it is! I hear there is snow in the forecast for this weekend – it is way too soon for that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

