Migrating Frogs & Salamanders, Deer

I feel so bad. Animal lover told me while he was driving home from work early this morning there were tons of migrating frogs crossing the road – the road I have to take to my parents’ home today. Argh, people who design and build roads through wetlands or any lands without thinking about building fences and/or tunnels for the wildlife drive me crazy. I don’t look forward to seeing dead frog bodies all over the road. I hope the frog migration finished before rush hour traffic.

He also told me that down near Honeoye Lake the salamanders were getting killed while migrating across a road near the lake – the professors at FLCC counted 100 salamanders in a 20’x20′ area. Way too many – the DoT is actually going to change the road to build tunnels – yay!

I forgot to mention yesterday, on my way to the Genesee Country Village & Museum I had to drive through the country with trees and shrubs that are really close to the road – and yup – deer were popping out and grazing *all* along the way. I thought I was never going to get there with having to drive slow and stop and etc. but I figure it’s better than hurting a deer / my vehicle and/or myself and continuing my “Deerslayer” nickname.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Oct 12, 2006 @ 16:46:08

    I have heard of frog and salamander migrations, but have never seen one. And I don’t think I have ever seen a salamander here in Maine.

    We had something in Oklahoma called mudpuppies, ever hear of them?

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Oct 12, 2006 @ 18:36:36

    I’ve heard of mudpuppies, I’ll have to google to what they are.

    Reply

  3. Lynne
    Oct 13, 2006 @ 09:49:05

    We saw a salamander migration last fall on the way up to Hasty Brook. Cars were detouring thanks to one fellow who got out of his car to flag people down. I was surprized that no one minded the detour!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Oct 13, 2006 @ 10:17:26

    Lynne – That’s cool some guy saved the salamanders! That must be an awesome sight to see – all those salamanders migrating.

    Reply

  5. Mon@rch
    Dec 23, 2006 @ 22:18:49

    Our Salamander Migration of the Spotted Salamanders here in Allegany State Park happen on the first warm rain in the spring! Mid to late March! We spend 3 or 4 nights moving these guys off the roads!

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Dec 24, 2006 @ 08:45:35

    Mon@rch – I didn’t realize the migration happened so early! Your spotted salamanders are lucky to have people like you to help them across the road. Do you have to stay up all night for the 3-4 nights helping them?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

