Fern Field Guides

Lynne of Hasty Brook asked me if I had any favorite Fern Field Guides. I do! My favorite for my area is Fern Finder, by Anne and Barbara Hallowell.

FernFinder

I also like Peterson’s Field Guide to Ferns:

PetersonsFerns

(Cover images from Amazon)

I have a couple others I like, but I can’t put my fingers on them right away. What is/are your favorite Fern Field Guide(s)?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne
    Oct 17, 2006 @ 15:03:03

    Thank you Pam!!!!
    I’ll add them to my wish list.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Oct 17, 2006 @ 15:12:38

    You’re welcome Lynne! In my Field Botany class we used the Fern Finder in the open book part of the test (not as easy as you might think) – I came to know Fern Finder real well so I could get all of the ferns in question correct. That’s why now it is my favorite – it hasn’t let me down yet. Now to find a Hartstongue Fern!

    Reply

  3. Lynne
    Oct 17, 2006 @ 15:29:24

    Another question Pam-
    I think I remember you suggesting a favorite on-line used book source. I can’t find it in your previous posts. If you did (and I’m not dreaming it up!) would you please post it in your comments? I’ll check back later. I did find Fern Finder on Amazon,and it looks like it extends to the north central states and so would be great for me here in MN!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Oct 17, 2006 @ 15:40:35

    Hi Lynne, I use bookfinder.com to find all of my books. I figured “Fern Finder” would be good for MN!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

