Mushroom Walk, Part I

On Sept 22, 2004 I went on a Mushroom walk for my Plant Pathology class in Letchworth State Park. I tried to write all of the mushroom names down, but it was tough as the teacher was zooming along *way* too fast. But my friend Rosa and I did end up taking photos of all of the shrooms. So here’s the first ones set that I’ve edited. P.S. Stay tuned, the mushrooms will get more interesting as I post more!

The first one I did get the name of: Hypoxylon fragiforme on a Beech tree:

Hypoxylon_fragiforme

More of the same:

Hypoxylon_fragiforme_007

I don’t know which one this is, but here’s the bottom:

IMG-010

and here’s the top:

IMG-011

Here’s the top of a little cutie: IMG-012

And the underside of the same one: IMG-013

And the underside of the last one for this post: IMG-014

And it’s topside:

IMG-015

By the way, the hand modeling these lovely mushrooms belongs to my friend Rosa. I love peoples’ hands, do you? ‘Til later! If you know the names of any of these ‘shrooms, please let me know!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Oct 20, 2006 @ 22:41:36

    Whoa…dude. Shrooms…groovy.

    The only specific mushroom name I know is Portabella.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Oct 21, 2006 @ 10:01:17

    Susan – I figured you’d like the shrooms! I wouldn’t trust myself to pick a shroom that wasn’t poisonous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

