Bird sightings

I have a hanging geranium that is on its last legs, just waiting for me to take it down because it looks yucky, and as I opened the drape yesterday morning, I saw a big fat blue jay in the pot going way deep for seeds! I’m glad I haven’t gotten to that pot yet!

Saturday morning when I opened the drape I saw a woodpecker on my Rose of Sharon. I tried getting the camera in time, but as soon as I did it hid itself and then flew off – but it was fun to see.  See the bird at the top of the Rose of Sharon?  Me neither.
21Oct2006I’m glad I’m bad about deadheading this time of year – I see so many birds picking at the flower heads.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. endment
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 10:53:26

    I am still laughing — I have so many pictures of birds that no one can see 🙂
    Juncos have arrived here in mass – to me that is a sure sign winter is here

    Reply

  2. Susan Gets Native
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 11:10:29

    Sure, I see the bird.
    See? It’s RIGHT THERE!

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 13:26:48

    Hi Endment – I’m glad I’m not the only one! 😀 I love Juncos – but I’m not quite ready for winter – yet.
    Yup Susan – it was there! I saw it with my own eyes – it was there – really it was!
    Of course it was in plain sight when the camera was in the other room.

    Reply

  4. Lynne
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 16:10:04

    Hilarious! I have a whole folder in Picasa of pictures of birds that WERE there…really…there was a bird there…

    Reply

  5. Sandy
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 16:55:14

    I took three of those “invisible” bird shots yesterday. The bird was olive in a birch grove, so even hard to see in real life!

    Agree with you about deadheading. I can put up with a messy garden until the birds get the seeds.

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 20:14:48

    Hi Lynne, Yup, I believe you, the birds have the knack of hiding at the exact moment the camera clicks.
    Hi Sandy, Oh yeah, olive would be hard to see even with eyeballs. My gardens drive my Mom crazy. In fact, I leave some until spring. Last spring I finally had to deadhead and I had a chickadee couple yelling at me from a tree above the garden. I mean, they were really mad I was moving their food source – but the new plants were already 6″ tall!

    Reply

  7. Laura
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 22:02:54

    Disappearing birds. *sigh*

    How do *those* people get such pretty pics of them?

    lol!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

