Leaf Program

If you rake your leaves to the end of your lawn next to the road like my neighbor across the street has done:

25Oct2006-003

My town workers will come along with a huge vacuum cleaner attached to the back of a truck that is used as a snow plow in winter and suck up all of your leaves: 25Oct2006-007 25Oct2006-006

And wah-lah, your leaf pile is gone: 25Oct2006-008

They then dump the leaves into a town leaf pile, where in the spring I can go get the leaf compost. Because I *always* have to be different, I don’t have my leaves piled at the end of my lawn. In fact, I haven’t even raked my leaves yet. Because I’ll rake them into my own personal leaf pile in my back yard for them to turn into my own personal pile of black gold. You can probably guess why I don’t like going to the town for my leaf compost – because of those morons that *have* to use chemicals on their lawn, which then gets onto / into the leaves and I believe are still there when the leaves turn into compost. I don’t like to take chances. This municipal leaf pile, however, *is* better than the clueless people that rake leaves into plastic bags and then put them at the curb for the garbage men to haul away – duh! Does your town vacuum your leaves?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Oct 25, 2006 @ 18:20:10

    I agree with you about the chemicals on the leaves. But it is a good way to get rid of them if you are not a gardener. Our town will get one of those things in about 30 years!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Oct 25, 2006 @ 19:17:56

    Hi Sandy – I agree, I’d rather see them go into a municipal leaf compost pile than into plastic bags in the landfill. That is if someone doesn’t have a garden or woods or somewhere natural to put them.

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Oct 25, 2006 @ 23:18:57

    Some of the nearby areas (the snooty rich areas) do the leaf at the curb thing, and I hate it, hate it, hate it! I drive through the piles if no one is around!
    Don’t tell anyone.

    Why do people not realize that leaves are perfect food for the trees that drop them? Just mulch the damn things!
    And people spend all this money pouring chemicals on their lawn, and remove Nature’s perfect vittles!
    Argh!!!!!!!!
    Sorry…had to rant. It really burns me up.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Oct 26, 2006 @ 09:46:43

    Susan – You crack me up – driving through the leaf piles, hmmmm, cool idea, something to do at night. . .
    Yeah, believe me if I didn’t live in the burbs (and not the rich ones here), those leaves would stay *right* where they fall. I like to irk the one neighbor I have by leaving them there extra long before I rake them to the back to use on my garden. This is the neighbor that mows his lawn twice a week – even in July and Aug when grass *doesn’t* grow.
    Rant away girlfriend – it irks me, too. Maybe if we keep ranting *some* people may get it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

