Men Working – Uh Huh

men_working

This sign bothers me on so many levels. First, whenever I see this sign, I know I’m going to held up in traffic for an undefinable amount of time, trying my patience way beyond the limits (I don’t have much patience for time wasting things). So yesterday, I’m driving to the gym, dodging the truck drivers when *boom* – the *dreaded* MEN WORKING sign, and three lanes have to merge into one, and traffic is at a complete stand still. People, I just want to go to the gym and move, not sit still in my vehicle and waste my life looking at the ass end of your vehicles. Okay, so my patience was tried, I did the merge thing, let people in (except the ones that race up from way behind) and what do I find? Oh, I feel my blood pressure rising here. The man who was “working” was picking up the cones because they were done with whatever it is they were “constructing.”

Every time I go out, I run into “construction.” One day, three lanes merged into one, and they were spraying water on the underside of a bridge. What! I wasted time I’ll never get back in my life so they could wash a freakin’ bridge? I’m thinking this is make work, but I *could* be wrong.

Okay, my next point – sometimes (seems like most times) when I go through these construction sites – the men are *not* working, but standing around talking (and I can bet it isn’t about work, yeah, I’ve worked around enough men to know when they are talking it usually isn’t about work), or sitting on their machines smoking. Yes, these “hard” working men need their breaks, but they can’t be on break every time I drive through.

And my last – very important – point. Why “MEN?” Every once in a while I see a woman working – usually as a flag person. Okay, so why aren’t there more women working construction? And why, when I do see a woman is she the flag person – albiet a *very* important job, but why can’t she run the equipment? Is it because women don’t want to construct? I filled out a job app to do the landscaping along the highway – I figure I could do a much better job at picking out the plant material than the “experts” have done (the plants are usually freakin’ dead a year after they are planted), but they said I don’t have the “right” education. Alrighty then. Their loss. Maybe it’s because I wouldn’t fit their “Men Working” sign by being a “woman who works her ass off at whatever it is she is doing and doesn’t need a freakin’ break every five minutes.”

P.S. Thanks for letting me rant.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Oct 26, 2006 @ 12:23:57

    I got two words for ya, Roaring Woman:

    DAMN SKIPPY!

    Reply

  2. Lynne
    Oct 26, 2006 @ 15:10:46

    T quote what my 13 year old daughter tells me when I rant:

    “Rock on SISTAH!!!”

    🙂

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Oct 26, 2006 @ 16:26:49

    You ladies are cracking me up! LOL!
    I just got home from going through more construction – my tax dollars at work, my aunt fanny!

    Reply

  4. Sandy
    Oct 28, 2006 @ 10:41:55

    Maine has lots of women road workers, for some reason.
    Is that a good or bad thing??

    We have noticed how the “boys” pace themselves, too!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Oct 28, 2006 @ 12:23:57

    Hi Sandy – Cool, I guess it’s a good thing there are lots of women wouldn’t you say? Things might not take as long to construct that way.
    So it’s not just me seeing them pacing themselves!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

