Mushroom Walk – Part III

Here’s a continuation of the Mushroom Walk I took at Letchworth State Park in Sep of 2004. Here’s some little mushrooms on a log, but I also love the moss on the other log:
IMG-031

Here’s a cool looking mushroom: IMG-033

By the time this one made it to Rosa and me it was kind of beat up, but I love the green color:

IMG-034

Here’s the underside: IMG-035

I wish I knew the names of all of these. Here’s a pretty pinkish one: IMG-037

And the underside: IMG-036

Another shroom on a stick: IMG-038

And a little cutie:

IMG-044

And a short, fat one, hmmm, shrooms can be quite phallic at times!  Yup, it reminds me of the time I walked into a classroom and on the board was a phallic drawing – they had been discussing fungus in field botany and needed an illustration! IMG-047

And shrooms on a log:

IMG-046

More later!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Oct 28, 2006 @ 23:21:46

    Phallic symbols, huh?
    NOW we know why you are out in the woods taking pics of mushrooms. You dirty-minded girl.
    I have NEVER looked at a mushroom and thought “Penis”.
    But now, thanks to you, that’s all I am going to be thinking of. Thanks, Pam.

    Reply

  2. Lynne
    Oct 29, 2006 @ 03:35:35

    I love looking at rotting logs in the woods. It’s like there’s a whole little world growing on one log! Cool pics!

    Reply

  3. endment
    Oct 29, 2006 @ 07:44:55

    What a fantastic assortment — I thought we had collected a wide assortment of fungi photos but ….

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Oct 29, 2006 @ 10:12:09

    Susan, Me neither until I took Pathology and then Field Botany – it was the guys who would make the comments. Now you know when you see a shroom that looks that way you’ll be giggling!
    Lynne, I love rotting logs too! I like watching David Attenborough films because he gets real close to nature.
    Thank you Endment – I’m glad you’re enjoying them. It’s so much fun to go searching for them, isn’t it? I’ve got a few more to post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

