Mushroom Walk, Part V

Okay, I’m back to blogging about my Mushroom Walk in Letchworth Park, Sept. 2004.

My professsor “wrote” on the top of one of the mushrooms:

IMG-062

I love this next photo, fungus on a tree root, a fern, fallen leaves, etc.: IMG-064

More fungus on a tree and log:

IMG-065

This is really cool with the fungus in the tree along with moss, lichens, etc.: IMG-066

A pretty little mushroom:

IMG-067

The underside of an interesting mushroom:

IMG-068

And the topside of the same mushroom: IMG-069

I think this was pulled off of a tree: IMG-071

I’ll leave the rest for the final post to come later. I hope you enjoy these today!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rhea
    Nov 02, 2006 @ 12:54:12

    Have you heard the one about the mushroom who walks into a bar? The bartender stops him at the door and says, “No mushrooms allowed!” The mushroom looks up and says, “What’s the matter, I’m a fun guy.”
    Get it?! Fungi.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Nov 02, 2006 @ 13:02:40

    ROFL Rhea! Thanks for the joke – I love a good laugh!

    Reply

  3. Sandy
    Nov 02, 2006 @ 18:00:03

    I have a friend in Phippsburg, Maine, (near Bath) who went on a mushroom walk this fall. She had a photo of a table full of fungi. Why am I not seeing all this stuff when I am in the woods???

    That lined paper does a good job of measuring size. I will remember that.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Nov 02, 2006 @ 18:05:15

    Hi Sandy, I usually see only the obvious stuff myself. If the kids in the class hadn’t had gone searching, we wouldn’t have seen half of the stuff I have photos of.
    Hey, I didn’t even think about the lined paper measuring the size! Thanks for the tip!

    Reply

  5. Lynne
    Nov 02, 2006 @ 23:07:15

    Pam, I’m really enjoying your posts about mushrooms. You have opened my eyes to a beautiful slice of life that I had never noticed much before. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Nov 03, 2006 @ 08:55:26

    Hi Lynne, You’re welcome. I’m glad you’re enjoying my posts. I didn’t realize there were so much fungus in one small area before this walk!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

