Bare Naked Trees

Even though I’d rather have the leaves on the trees, I really appreciate looking at the forms of various trees this time of year. Here’s the Shagbark Hickory (Carya ovata) in my backyard:
03Nov2006-002

And here’s a little more snow on my deck from yesterday morning: 03Nov2006-001

Not enough to get the skis or snow shoes out yet, but I’m sure that will be soon. Winter seems to be knocking on the door a little early this year.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Nov 04, 2006 @ 14:36:07

    I miss the leaves, too. But the nekkid trees are interesting to look at. I can see the hummingbird’s nest in the maple now!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Nov 04, 2006 @ 15:40:44

    Susan – when you get a working camera again can you take a photo of the nest for your blog? I love little hummingbird nests!

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Nov 04, 2006 @ 22:35:31

    Yes, Ma’am!
    Maybe I should post my address on my blog, and any good-hearted soul could just MAIL me one.
    😉

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Nov 05, 2006 @ 08:41:40

    Yay! I’ll look forward to it! Ask Santa Geoff to buy you one early! It’s almost X-Mas afterall! And I’m missing photos of well, everything you do and your girls and your animals.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

