I am now a Casual Birder.

Okay, thanks to Susan‘s help, I am now officially a casual birder. I know what bins are, and I am now a lister. Oh, and I forgot to mention earlier, I subscribe to Bird Watcher’s Digest and Backyard Birder. And I love Julie Zickefoose‘s artwork.

What state (or country) do you live in? NY
How long have you been birding?
Since I was born, but I’ve been documenting somewhat since April, 2006 via this blog.
Are you a “lister”?
Yup, I am now!
ABA Life List:
25 – I know I have a ways to go here!!
Overall Life List:
25
3 Favorite Birding Spots:
My backyard, Montezuma National Wildlife Refuge, Desert Botanical Garden
Favorite birding spot outside your home country:
None
Farthest you’ve traveled to chase a rare bird:
I haven’t
Nemesis bird:
None yet
“Best” bird sighting:
Baltimore Oriel – I know woop-ti-do, but they’re hard to see here
Most wanted trip:
Brazil with Rosa to see birds and plants
Most wanted bird:
Eagle – I’ve seen them, now I need to document it.
What model and brand of bins do you use?:
Bushnell with a National Audobon Society label on the side. I use my camera more than my “bins.”
What model and brand of scope do you use?:
None
What was the last lifer you added to your list?:
American Kestrel (only because I was going back in time to list the birds I’ve seen).
Where did you see your last lifer?:
Boyce Thompson Arboretum
What’s the last bird you saw today?:
Red-headed Woodpecker
Best bird song you’ve heard ever:
Baltimore Oriel
Favorite birding moment:
A male Gambel’s Quail at Desert Botanical Garden protecting his family.
Least favorite thing about birding:
The peep. I got it in my eye once.
Favorite thing about birding:
Umm, seeing someone new.
Favorite field guide for the US:
None yet – I use three different ones and they all irritate me, I’m checking out the latest National Geographic bird field guide.
Favorite non-field guide bird book:
First Flight by Noriko and Don Carroll
Who is your birder icon:
I’d have to think about it
Do you have a bird feeder(s)?
No, I grow lots of stuff birds like to eat.
Favorite feeder bird?
None

I have to go outside now and keep building my life list!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. endment
    Nov 06, 2006 @ 17:41:52

    Cheers for officially joining the birdwatchers.
    Just finished reading a book you might enjoy “How to be a (Bad) Birdwatcher” by Simon Barnes. Wishing you lots of luck and even more fun as you add to your list!!!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Nov 06, 2006 @ 20:02:18

    Thank you Endment! I added three more birds to my life list today. Thank you for the title – I’ll look for it at the library / on the Internet.

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Nov 06, 2006 @ 22:02:05

    Hooray!
    Hey, everybody! WE GOT ANOTHER ONE!!!

    Yay, yay, yay!

    Reply

  4. Laura
    Nov 06, 2006 @ 23:07:18

    Now you have arrived!

    😉

    Happy hunting for lifers.

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Nov 07, 2006 @ 08:46:16

    You know Susan, I was thinking that exact thing as I was entering my lifers in the list – those birders got another human!
    Thanks Laura! I wish they had a lifer list for plants – or maybe they do.

    Reply

  6. Laura
    Nov 07, 2006 @ 10:51:07

    People do it for butterflies and dragonflies – I’m sure they do plants as well.

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Nov 07, 2006 @ 13:30:07

    That’s cool Laura! – I have lists in my books for plants, but it would be neat to have an online list for plants.

    Reply

  8. Rurality
    Nov 08, 2006 @ 09:57:50

    The great thing about just starting out is that you can add so many new ones every month! 🙂

    My favorite list to keep is a yard list… the birds that we’ve seen just in our area. (We’re pretty liberal in what we call our “yard”!)

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Nov 08, 2006 @ 17:34:35

    Hi Rurality! I’m having fun adding to list every day. I can imagine it is exciting to add to your list even after you have a high number.

    Reply

  10. bobzeller
    Dec 10, 2009 @ 11:14:20

    Aha! Someone who thinks like I do. I am a photographer turned birder. I got hooked into photographing birds a couple of years ago, and that led to birding. I love to go birding with my wife, but I feel that I must photograph the bird also. Sometimes, that is the only way I can ID one. I got my life list up to 182 as of yesterday, after I spotted a Harris’s Hawk. But I didn’t get the photograph yet. But the merry chase begins.:-)

    I loved looking at your Q and A list. I like your sense of humor. BTW, now I know what people are talking when they say “bins”. LOL

    Welcome to the birding community! Check out my bird photos at http://www.zellertexasphotos.com. My Texas Tweeties blog is http://bobzeller.wordpress.com. I am also new to blogging, too. Only been doing this since September.

    Bob Zeller

    Reply

Leave a Reply

