November 7

So what’s so special about November 7th? Besides the fact it is election day, anyone I know who was born on November 7th thinks this day is a National Holiday. And I’m one of them. So everyone gets the day off to celebrate my birthday. See, isn’t that cool? Must be a Scorpio thing. It just makes my Mother’s eyes roll. I’m just kidding, really. I guess. I went searching for stuff that happened today in history on the Internet in case you’re interested.

Today in History from LOC

This Day in History Yowsa, I didn’t realize this was the day that the Tacoma Narrows Bridge in Washington State collapsed.

C3-4-twstingTPL-6262

If you ever get a chance to see the short movie on this bridge, it is amazing. People actually drove over this bridge while it was a rockin’ and a rollin’ in the wind. I mean actually twisting. They show the cars driving over it. Definitely an engineering faux pas. I watched this movie in amazement in one of my mechanical engineering courses – to show what not to do. If you’re interested, you may want to look at the photos at the link, scroll down towards the bottom.

November 7 – Wikipedia Hmmm, they don’t have me or my birthday buddies listed here. We’ll have to fix this. I always thought it was cool I shared Marie Curie’s birthday since I was always interested in chemistry, physics and biology and have taken my share of these courses in college.
marie_curie

To everyone born on this day – Happy Birthday To You!

P.S.Ā  I’m up to 28 on my life list!Ā  Woo Hoo!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Nov 07, 2006 @ 10:54:52

    Happy Birthday! Are you doing something special today?

    One of the nicest things about being a beginning birder is how easy it is to add new birds to your list – that won’t always be so.

    Reply

  2. Susan Gets Native
    Nov 07, 2006 @ 12:39:43

    “Happy Birthday to Yoooooo”

    I saw the short movie of that bridge collapse a long time ago, and all I could ever remember of it was the dog trapped in the car.

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Nov 07, 2006 @ 13:28:20

    Thanks Laura! – no I’m not doing anything special today, but this weekend I have a party to go to. Yipee! I’m sure it’s tough to add birds to your list when you have as many as you do. You must get excited when you can add a new one!
    Thanks Susan! – I didn’t know there was a dog trapped in the car. Wah!

    Reply

  4. Sandy
    Nov 07, 2006 @ 16:23:49

    Happy Birthday, your’s is close to mine, The 11th. (veterans day-no mail)

    Yes, I have seen that movie, many times.

    Reply

  5. Lynne
    Nov 07, 2006 @ 18:04:48

    Happy birthday Pam! I’m singing the Casey Jones birthday song to you-

    Happy happy birthday
    to every girl and boy.
    Hope this very special day
    brings you lots of joy.
    Hope the birthday presents
    you get from mom and dad
    will make this very special day
    the best you’ve ever had!

    Casey Jones was a local Minneapolis childen’s TV show in the early 60’s. It was on at lunch time back in the days when we could walk home from school
    for lunch.
    (Oh-oh…I think I’m dating myself!)

    šŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Nov 07, 2006 @ 18:20:13

    Thank you Sandy! And early Happy Birthday to You! šŸ˜€ I told my Mom once that November babies are a result of Valentine’s Day – there sure are many of us!
    Thank you Lynne! That’s a cool song! And it’s neat to hear there were other local children shows in other cities. We had “The Magic Toy Shop” in Syracuse. I actually met The Play Lady last year and she is still as much a character as she was back then.

    Reply

  7. Susan Gets Native
    Nov 07, 2006 @ 23:28:56

    Pam,
    Isabelle was due around this time, but I was induced in late October. She was a “Valentine’s Baby” for sure. I kept track of all the times DH and I, umm, you know, and that was the only day we, umm, you know, in that month!
    Is that TMI?

    Reply

  8. endment
    Nov 08, 2006 @ 07:57:09

    A very happy birthday and may you add many birds to your life list during this coming year šŸ™‚

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Nov 08, 2006 @ 17:32:06

    Very cool Susan! Thanks for proving my theory is right!
    Thank you Endment! I hope to eventually get somewhere near the number of birds you have on your list!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

